

LISBOAN Awards – Winners of the 2013 competition

The LISBOAN network, a pan-European Erasmus Academic Network funded under the European Union's Lifelong Learning Programme, is pleased to announce the results of its 2013 award competition.

LISBOAN offers annual awards for excellence in teaching and research with a view to the Treaty of Lisbon. The awards are open to both members and non-members of the network. Each award is endowed with a prize of €1,500 and may distinguish a wide variety of persons or activities: senior or young researchers, docents, but also academic careers, online courses, text books, etc.

For the third set of LISBOAN awards, the award committees for the teaching and the research award, headed by Prof. *Lenka Rovna* (Charles University Prague) and Prof. *Brigid Laffan* (University College Dublin), respectively, have had to choose from several excellent candidates. The following submissions have been selected:

- *Ian Cooper* (ARENA Oslo) receives the Award for excellent research for the article 'A "Virtual Third Chamber" for the European Union? National Parliaments after the Treaty of Lisbon', published in 2012.
- Joachim Koops (Vesalius College, Vrije Universiteit Brussel) receives the Award for excellent teaching for the course "From Theory to Post-Lisbon Practice: Policy Analysis and Policy Advice" – The Arab Spring and the EU's Approach to the Maghreb' in 2013.

The award ceremony took place on 7th June 2013 during the third Annual Conference of the LISBOAN network in Brussels.

LISBOAN (Linking Interdisciplinary Integration Studies by Broadening the European Academic Network) is a network of 68 partner institutions from all EU member states as well as Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Turkey. Its aim is to strengthen cooperation between institutions of higher education and research in Europe with a view to teaching and researching the Treaty of Lisbon, the European Union's legal foundation since December 2009. LISBOAN is funded under the European Union's Lifelong Learning Programme, contract 177316-LLP-1-2010-1-DE-ERASMUS-ENWA, from October 2010 - September 2013.